Generate list of filenames for Assets with duplicates

Hi,

My library has 170,000 files from a variety of legacy sources and once the de-duplication happens, I end up with 112,000 assets. I studied the SQL file for a while and can see the assetID of each asset, the id of each file associated with that asset, which of these associated file is shown, its uri and fileSize.
All good so far…

What I’d like to do is to reclaim as much space as possible for the least amount of effort. While PS does great work catching duplicates, it is not (yet?) set up as a way to manage these duplicates and delete redundant data.

Rather than use a de-duplicator on the various input libraries (and introduce yet another software package), I’m looking for a way to fold the great de-duping work already done by PS back into the source. My thought is that I can use a csv of all the assets that have multiple files associated with them and write a script to encode some kind of keyword into my input files with exiftool and refresh those updated files in Lightroom to do the necessary visual checks before deleting the duplicates.

My question is: is there a simple way to get that specific data out of the sql file into a format more flexible to work with in a script?

PhotoStructure for Servers (you can install it next to your PhotoStructure for Desktops installation) has a bunch of command-line tools to do just this sort of data exploration and mass file changes.

I’ve cooked up a bunch of recipes here:

https://photostructure.com/server/tools/#show-me-all-the-shown-filenames-for-each-asset

Standard disclaimers:

• PhotoStructure may not have deduplicated things exactly as you’d expect/hope.

• PhotoStructure may have either aggregated too many files into a single asset (false positives) or too few (false negatives). You can see what it did by browsing your library and opening the “info” panel: the bold filename is the “primary”, or “shown” asset file variation. *