Install PhotoStructure on TrueNAS Scale

I would very much appreciate detailed instructions on how to install Photo Structure on TrueNAS Scale simple enough for newbies to follow. While I am a programmer, I don’t know Docker/Docker Compose/Whatever system TrueNAS scale uses. I have spent a day reading Photo Structure instructions for Docker and Docker Compose - they are a great overview - but I am reasonably confident that they assume someone knows these tools very well. I do not. They are a great overview for someone that knows what they are doing - but not for a Docker/TrueNAS newbie.

I think I should be looking for a YAML file - but could not find that in the instructions.

Thanks in advance for any help you might offer.

Cheers,
Peter

Hey there! TrueNAS SCALE is Debian-based, which should run docker-compose natively, but I don’t have a box locally that I can verify this with (yet). Here’s the docker-compose YAML.

I’m setting up a new NAS (I’m still picking out components so I can run with ECC) specifically to run SCALE on it, so I should have better instructions (perhaps a video walkthrough and screenshots!) after the next stable release is out.

Not quite… TrueNAS Scale does not run your standard docker setup, it’s kubernetes and does not come with Docker Compose - one of the key reason why I chose NOT to use TrueNAS Scale myself. Last year the community introduced a docker-compose system in a docker-in-docker setup. See here: TrueCharts Integrates Docker Compose with TrueNAS SCALE | TrueNAS Community - yikes!

Ideally, someone would create a “chart” for Photostructure so you can just pick it from their list of available app, and all the kubernetes nastiness is taken care of.

Meanwhile, if you really want to use Truenas Scale, you best bet is to follow this tutorial to setup a docker container from scratch using their UI - Using Launch Docker Image |

Hi Team, thanks very much for your help. Have tried several things - unsuccessfully so far.