Ratarmount in a docker on unraid

Feel free to improve on this as I’ve little experience deploying dockers via CLI. Or really, deploying dockers from anything other than the CA plugin in Unraid.

The challenge: I wanted a ‘python3’ environment from which to run ratarmount, so that I could mount google-takeout archives for photostructure import.
Related reading:

As noted in that writeup, make sure you grab the tgz from google takeout. The sizes are (can be) larger and ratarmount will consume them well (zip, maybe not supported yet)

I have a separate docker container to present the mounted contents of a series of google takeout tars. The trick is to specify the bind-mount such that the baseOS (or the Photostructure container) can see the files.

Ah: Enable dockerHub in unraid: (Apps tab–>CA Settings along the left nav)

Here’s the docker line that got me there (using the standard dockerHub ‘python’) and executed from an unraid console:

docker run -d \
  -it \
  --name <containerName> \
  --mount type=bind,source=<src-host>,target=<dst-container>,bind-propagation=rshared \
  --cap-add SYS_ADMIN --device /dev/fuse \
  python

Then exec in with bash:
docker exec -it <containerName-or-ID> bash

Install fuse tools
apt update; apt-get install python3-fusepy fuse

Install ratarmount
pip install ratarmount

Make your mountpoint, mine only as an example:

root@ae94450dd366:/duplicates# ratarmount *.tgz 20210908_takeout/takeoutmountpoint
Loading offset dictionary from /duplicates/takeout-20210908T180750Z-001.tgz.index.sqlite took 0.00s
Loading offset dictionary from /duplicates/takeout-20210908T180750Z-002.tgz.index.sqlite took 0.00s
Loading offset dictionary from /duplicates/takeout-20210908T180750Z-003.tgz.index.sqlite took 0.00s

Remember that whatever your rartarmount mount point, it’ll be read-only. So you may want to host-map the directory above, that way you can create the .uuid file for photostructure tracking.