Total newbie organisational advice please!

Hi and thanks for reading :smiley:
I think I at least partially misunderstood what Photostructure is for despite having read all the help articles that seemed relevant. I can totally see the benefit of it but I think I need a step before Photostructure and wondered if anybody can advise? I can see that after some preliminary organisation Photostructure will be really useful.

I have never organised my photos/videos so on creating a library I only have dates (some of which are wrong as my GoPro was set to the wrong date) and camera type to work with. I want to rationalise what I have into one SSD (which I will of course back up) and also into categories such as location, event etc.

In addition to random pics from my laptop I mostly have photo and video from a DSLR and also from a GoPro plus some phone photos/videos plus I have backups of some of these files over the 2 external hard drives and the laptop that Iā€™ve imported into the library. Is there any relatively simple way of consolidating these so I can move them and organise them? Can any of this be done on PhotoStructure itself? Or would I be better starting off with something else? I also have some other flash drives and SD cards that Iā€™ve not got to yet.

Iā€™d really appreciate any tips! Iā€™m trying to organise my photos and other digital content for the first time ever so that Iā€™ll be able to manage it better in future but rationalising the photos/videos is kind of urgent as I have bought a couple of SSDs for travel and want to leave the two external hard drives at home with backups and move the files that I need to be able to access onto the SSDs. Iā€™m not very technically minded (at all!) but I am willing to put the time in to learn what I need to know!